San Francisco/North Bay progressive deathcore unit, Ænimus have just unleashed the lyric video for the track ‘Inertia’, taken from their forthcoming As Yet Untitled debut album. The lyric video can be viewed via the band’s own ‘ÆnimusOfficial' YouTube Channel. ‘Inertia' was exclusively premiered back in late August (31st to be exact) via Heavy Blog is Heavy, and garnered roughly 1,000+ plays in the first weekend alone. A guitar play through video featuring guitarist Brian Deebs' James playing one of the solos from the track was also released as a teaser leading up to the online premiere of ‘Inertia’, and can be viewed at this location.
The lyric video for ‘Inertia' was put together by Ænimus guitarist Sean Swafford, and he had the following to say about the creative process and idea behind it:
I am extremely excited to release this lyric video for our song ‘Inertia.’ The idea behind the video is mainly based on the song’s lyrical content. I really wanted to do something different from a lot of the lyric videos that I’ve seen. I wanted to try to visualize the lyrics, so I decided to go with a video that looks more realistic as opposed to most lyric videos that are primarily abstract. This was probably the most difficult video I have worked on so far, due to the tedious work involved with creating the clouds. Being able to finally see the end result, it was definitely worth the time and effort that went into it. Since joining Ænimus, I’ve been doing my part to help to make us as self sufficient as possible. Everyone in this band does something extra on top of contributing to the writing process and continually practicing to improve their skill sets on their respective instrument. In this day and age (in the music business), bands need to learn to wear multiple hats to survive; especially in the metal music scene. It’s definitely a lot of work, and we’re doing our best to stay on top of it. Anyhow, please do enjoy the video.
Ænimus are currently wrapping up the recording process for their debut album at NB Recording in Santa Rosa, CA with Producer Nick Botelho (Deadly Remains, The Kennedy Veil). An official release date has not been set.
The track list for the As Yet Untitled album is as follows:
I.    Asherah’s Hourglass
II.   The Awakening
III.  The Grasp of Ruin
IV.   Masterpiece
V.    Descent Into Chaos
VI.   Black Malice Construct
VII.  Black Malice Alchemy
VIII. Thrive
IX.   Heavy Lies the Crown
X.    Inertia
XI.   Convictions
XII.  The Final Delirium

AuthorJordan Mohler